Small Batch Basil Walnut Pesto

I love garden freshness. I mean whats not to love.

And making small batches means a small amount of ingredients packed with tons of flavors. I only made this small batch because I was craving pesto but also our basil crop isn’t that big right now.

img_7982

I’m holding onto the last few weeks of summer like weather. I love Fall. I love Winter too. If end of Summer could be a season, I would love that too! Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about Spring…

Making homemade pesto means summer to me. Freezing the extras and enjoying it the rest of the year is cool. Adding it to sauces, soups, eggs and sandwiches gives everything that garden bright flavor we all crave during the colder months.

img_7989Replacing pine nuts for walnuts is something I do often. I mean, pine nuts are expensive. I love their flavor but let’s be honest, spending that kind of money for something I make over and over again, just isn’t happening.

img_7987

And don’t forget those roasted tomatoes. Super easy, quick and can be added to lots of different dishes. **little note about them at the end of the recipe.

And then I add grilled black pepper chicken to my bowl…and more pesto, of course!

img_7993

Finding quality Parmesan cheese is a must too! Quality always wins over with me. Yes, it might be a very tiny slice but the taste is unreal…and everyone loves the real thing!

img_7996

Small Batch Basil Walnut Pesto

Makes about 1 cup. Whole30, Paleo, Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Vegetarian

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups heaping/stuffed basil
  • 2 tablespoons walnuts
  • 2 large garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons good quality olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Method:

1. Clean basil and pat dry.

2. Add everything into food processor. Pulse until combine. Open and clean the sides of the inside part of the processor so all the basil gets chopped up evenly.

3. Pulse again if needed.

4. Freeze in small containers (ice trays work great) or put in air tight container in refrigerator. Will last for about 1 week.

Handy Tips:

  • Let thaw overnight in refrigerator.
  • If using right away, toss with warm pasta and a little bit of the pasta cooking water. Always add more 🙂
  • Can be refrozen and thawed again.
  • Don’t add cheese if you want to freeze – add cheese before serving.
  • Almonds, cashews, pumpkin seeds would be great too!

Additions: roasted cherry tomatoes and grated Parmesan cheese

**Roasting cherry tomatoes. Heat oven to 400 degree. Coat tomatoes with kosher salt and olive oil. Add to cooking pan and cook until they start to brown and pop open. Remove them and let them cool before adding them.

img_7994

Leave a Reply

