“What’s in your gluten free pantry?”

As a personal | private Chef, I get asked this a lot. I have several clients switching to a more focused gluten free and dairy free diet and they always want to know what to have in their house to make it easier for them.

Going Gluten Free, Dairy Free and/or Paleo can be hard. I remember when we changed our eating habits to the Paleo diet and I felt like I was throwing everything in my pantry away. I decided to treat it as a process and not go cold turkey so we could use up some of the pantry goods we already had.

img_7483

**this picture has nothing to do with this post…random shirt I took a picture of. May go back to buy it!

My suggestion to you is to buy a few things each time you shop and not go crazy and not buy everything the first time. It can be expensive but buying in bulk and buying the right products is key. I’ve tried a ton of gluten free products (which I’m sure I’ll be writing about)…some not so good and others are great alternatives.

My NUMBER ONE piece of advice : Set yourself up for success. If you are completely new to gluten free cooking, it’s going to be a mind shift for you. It takes a little longer to think about the ingredients but well worth it. Arm yourself with a prepared pantry so you don’t have to sacrifice taste, texture and looks. Let me tell you that texture is a big one for me and some gluten free product can change that for your palette. Rest a sure, you will start feeling more comfortable with these new products and surprised by how good things taste…AND most importantly how GOOD you feel!

Here is a list..yes, it’s a bit long, I love a well stocked pantry.

Pantry Staples

Baking:

  • Cup 4 Cup Gluten free Flour – the best I’ve tried.
  • Almond Flour
  • Coconut Sugar
  • Organic Vanilla Extract
  • Organic Coconut Sugar
  • Organic Cane Sugar
  • Brown Rice Syrup

Canned Goods:

  • Coconut Milk (great for stir frys, adding to vegetables..making sauces)
  • Roasted Tomatoes, diced
  • Tomato Paste
  • Stock (organic chicken and organic vegetable)

Dry Goods:

  • Chia Seeds (smoothies and baking)
  • Flax Seeds
  • Raw Cashews, Walnuts, Almonds, Sunflower Seeds, Pumpkin seeds
  • Dried Fruit: Cranberries/Raisins
  • Organic Oats (I like the extra thick rolled oats kind)
  • Gluten Free Pasta
  • Quinoa
  • Gluten Free Breadcrumbs
  • Corn Chips
  • Olives
  • Crackers

Spices & Sauces: (these are some I use all the time)

  • Course Kosher Salt
  • Black Pepper Grounds
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Herbs D’Provence
  • Ground Ginger
  • Cumin
  • Cinnamon
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Chili Flakes
  • Tamari Soy Sauce
  • Brown Rice Vinegar
  • Hot Sauce

Oils/Fats:

  • Organic Coconut Oil
  • Organic Olive Oil
  • Butter/ Ghee/Bacon Grease
  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Sesame Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Red Wine Vinegar

**Please NOTE: I try not to eat beans, so you won’t see any on this list. Beans, Lentils, Chickpeas can be great additions to meals, if you gut will have them.

You will be amazed with how you feel, by limited the amount of gluten you consume. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

