Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Tacos

A slow cooker should be in every kitchen.

With a little bit of planning ahead of time and adding all the ingredients into the pot and then leaving it for most of an afternoon = a ready to eat meal and your house smelling amazing! Well, it’s an easy choice.

Plus, less dishes at the end of the meal, is great too!

img_9171

I loved slow cooked meals on a Sunday. We spend as much time as a family on the weekends and I tend not to want to do much in the kitchen on these days…unless it’s making dessert.

img_9173

Do you know the difference between a Slow Cooker and a Crock Pot? Well, one of my favorite websites The Kitchn, has an article on it to explain.

img_9174

What I love about these shredded beef tacos is that my kids love them too!

We make little tacos for them and melt the cheese…leave out my beloved cilantro and they chow down!

img_9175

I just don’t get it when people say cilantro tastes like soap. It is only of the things that I buy at least once per month and grow in my garden. Absolutely love the stuff!

Cilantro can be added to curries, stir fry’s, tacos, soups, salads, sandwiches and lots of slow cooked meals!

img_9172

And don’t forget the sides. Saffron rice and pinto beans go very well with this Spanish inspired meal.

img_9178

Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Tacos

6 large servings (I freeze leftovers – can be made into enchiladas or stuffed peppers later)

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 lbs chuck roast
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon black or white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste

Method:

  1. Place chuck roast in slow cooker.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and mix. Spread half of spice blend on one side of roast and flip over and spread the remaining of the spice blend.
  3. Set slow cooker to 6.5 hours on low or 4 hours on high.
  4. Shred beef with two forks and keep in the slow cooker until ready to serve.

I added some pinto beans and saffron rice for our sides. For the tacos, I heated up tortillas on a cast iron pan, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream, our favorite salsa and of course cilantro and hot sauce, to make ‘build your own soft tacos’.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Tacos

  1. Yum!! I love the minimal ingredients required! I gotta get an arsenal of crock pot as I prepare to return to work! I like this one and am going to try it this next week! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Good luck returning to work! Having some good recipes that are quick, easy and simple/few ingredients are always good to have, in your back pocket. Less thinking and worrying about dinner is always a good thing, in my book! Hope you like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

