Teaching Thankfulness and Gratitude.

Being Thankful is one thing. Realizing that you are grateful is another. Teaching it to a 2 and 4 year old, is a whole new thing.

With Thanksgiving around the corner, I thought what better time than now to really instill and teach them what being thankful is, to my kids. We have a lot to be thankful for. I want to teach my kids what its all about.

img_9523

Now for the fun stuff.

I found this tree in the $1 section at Target (its basically the best section in the whole store)… truthfully the tree was $3…yes, they have some $3 items in their $1 section…and I’ve seen them at Micheal’s Crafts, JoAnn Fabric Store and online. It took me 1 second to put together and the leaves come with a little sticker to its back to easily attach to the tree.

img_9536

Once my kids saw the stickers, it was game on. But I did decide to have them tell me 2 things they were grateful or thankful for each, so we could us their other thoughts for the rest of the month…

img_9529

For the whole month of November, I’m going to ask my kids a couple of times a week (or when I remember), what they are thankful for…and write down whatever they say, without interrupting them and without judgement and without changing their minds (Moms, you know what I’m talking about).

img_9531

Here is where we are today. Only a few sweet words, but I’m beginning to see how much we have taught these girls about being thankful and grateful, already.

  1. Healthy
  2. Love
  3. My Bike
  4. Gigi (one of their fabulous Grandmothers)

img_9538

I’m all about starting traditions! Add this one to the list!

In an effort to arm myself with some knowledge before I just say, ‘you should be thankful for’…I really wanted my kids to think about it. Here are a few tips that I’ve read, when teaching about being grateful and thankful.

  • Recognizing the good in things, people and activities
  • It doesn’t have to be big things, but small things too
  • Think about everyday kindnesses, that will make you way more grateful

img_9533

And lastly, my husband has started asking everyone at the dinner table, what was their favorite thing about the day. We have noticed the kids say things like “I liked how my friend gave me a hug” and “My snack at school was delicious” and “I like our neighbors and our street we live on”. Again, it doesn’t have to be big things…the small things count too!

I’m thankful that my kids nap at the same time…gives me some time to refresh.

2 thoughts on “Teaching Thankfulness and Gratitude.

Leave a Reply

